Academic calendar

Academic Calendar

2020-2021 academic year

 

February 2020

February 2020 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
President's Day; campus closed, no classes Monday 2/17/2020
Second fee payment due for those on payment plan Monday, 2/17/2020
Final day to receive a 50% refund if completely withdrawing from the University Friday, 2/28/2020

March 2020

March 2020 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Deadline to apply for May graduation Sunday, 3/1/2020
Spring Break; campus open, no classes Saturday 3/14/2020-Sunday 3/22/2020
Final fee payment due for those on payment plan Tuesday, 3/17/2020
Summer Session registration starts Monday, 3/23/2020
 

April 2020

*Please note: These updated deadlines apply to regular session classes only. For classes with dynamic start/end dates contact mynevada@unr.edu to request information for your specific course.*

April 2020 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Fall semester enrollment begins Wednesday, 4/1/2020
Final day to drop classes and receive a W* Friday, 4/10/2020
Final day to change from credit to audit* Friday, 4/10/2020
No dropping of individual classes after this deadline* Friday, 4/10/2020
 

May 2020

May 2020 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Prep Day Wednesday, 5/6/2020
Finals week begins Thursday, 5/7/2020
Final day for submitting thesis/dissertation and notice of completion with Graduate School for December graduation Friday, 5/8/2020
Instruction Ends Wednesday, 5/13/2020
Commencement Saturday, 5/14/2020-Monday, 5/16/2020
Faculty to post final grades in MyNEVADA (5 p.m.) Monday, 5/18/2020
Spring semester ends (last day faculty on campus for fall semester Monday, 5/18/2020
Application deadline for first-year applicants (Fall 2020) Friday, 5/22/2020

June 2020

June 2020 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Orientation Experience Monday 6/15/20-Tuesday 6/16/2020
Second Housing payment due Monday, 6/15/2020
Deadline to cancel Housing and only forfeit security deposit Monday, 6/15/2020
Orientation Express Thursday, 6/18/2020
Orientation Express Tuesday, 6/23/2020
Orientation Experience Thursday 6/25/20-Friday 6/26/2020
Orientation Experience Mon 6/29 - Tues 6/30/2020

July 2020

July 2020 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Application Deadline for Transfer/Second Bachelor's Applicants Wednesday, 7/1/2020
Orientation Express Tuesday, 7/7/2020
Orientation Transition Friday, 7/10/2020
Orientation Experience Monday 7/13/2020-Tuesday 7/14/2020
Orientation Experience Thursday 7/16/2020-Friday 7/17/2020
Orientation Transition Monday, 7/20/2020
Orientation Experience Monday 7/27/2020-Tuesday 7/28/2020
Deadline to cancel Housing and only forfeit security deposit and initial payment 7/31/20

August 2020

August 2020 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Orientation Experess Monday, 8/3/2020
Application Deadline for Non-Degree/Graduate Special Applicants Friday, 8/14/2020
Final day to apply for change of residency for Fall Semester Friday, 8/14/2020
NevadaFit move-in day Saturday, 8/15/20-Sunday, 8/16/2020
Opening Ceremony Sunday, 8/16/2020
NevadaFit Programs Sunday 8/16/20-Thursday 8/20/20
Fall Semester Faculty reporting date Monday, 8/17/2020
New Graduate Student Orientation/Reception Thursday, 8/20/2020
All residence halls open at 10 a.m. Thursday, 8/20/2020
Application Deadline for Returning Student Application Friday, 8/21/2020
Final day for initial registration Friday, 8/21/2020
Fall Semester fees due; final day to pay all fees without incurring late payment fees Friday, 8/21/2020
First payment due for those students on payment plan Friday, 8/21/2020
Late fees assessed Friday, 8/21/2020
First day of classes Monday, 8/24/2020
Final day to add or swap classes without permission from instructor Friday, 8/28/2020

September 2020

September 2020 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Labor Day (no classes, campus closed) Monday, 9/7/2020
Final day to receive a 100% refund if dropping individual classes or completely withdrawing from the University Wednesday, 9/2/2020
Final day to change from a letter grade to S/U or S/U to a letter grade or audit Wednesday, 9/2/2020
Final day to add or swap classes with permission from instructor Wednesday, 9/2/2020
No refunds after this date unless completely withdrawing from the university; 50% refund for complete withdrawal begins Wednesday, 9/2/2020
Second fee payment due for those on payment plan Monday, 9/21/2020

October 2020

October 2020 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Deadline to apply for December graduation Thursday, 10/1/2020
Final day to receive a 50% refund if completely withdrawing from the university Friday, 10/2/2020
Final fee payment due for those on payment plan Wednesday, 10/21/2020
Nevada Day (no classes; campus closed) Friday, 10/30/2020
Final day to drop classes and receive a W Tuesday, 10/27/2020
Final day to change from credit to audit Tuesday, 10/27/2020
No dropping of individual classes after this deadline Tuesday, 10/27/2020

November 2020

November 2020 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Veteran's Day (no classes; campus closed) Wednesday, 11/11/2020
Notice of Completion (Doctoral due from graduating doctoral students who are being hooded Wednesday, 11/25/2020
Thanksgiving Day (no classes; campus closed) Thursday, 11/26/2020
Family Day (no classes; campus closed) Friday, 11/27/2020

December 2020

December 2020 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Final day for submitting thesis/dissertation and notice of completion with Graduate School for December graduation Friday, 12/4/2020
Commencement Saturday, 12/5/2020
Prep Day Wednesday, 12/9/2020
Finals week begins Thursday, 12/10/2020
Instruction Ends Wednesday, 12/16/2020
Fall semester ends - last day faculty on campus for fall semester Friday, 12/18/2020
Faculty to post final grades in MyNEVADA - 5 p.m. Monday, 12/21/2020
Christmas Holiday (campus closed) Friday, 12/25/2020

January 2021

January 2021 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
New Year's Day; campus closed Friday, 1/1/2021
Final day to withdraw from Wintersession classes and receive a W Thursday, 1/7/2021
Final day to change Wintermester class from credit to audit Thursday, 1/7/2021
Final day to apply for change of residency for Spring Semester Friday, 1/8/2021
Application Deadline for Non-Degree/Graduate Special Applicants Friday, 1/8/2021
Spring Semester Faculty reporting date Tuesday, 1/12/2021
New Graduate Student Orientation/Reception Thursday, 1/14/2021
Wintermester instruction ends Friday, 1/15/2021
Spring Semester fees due; final day to pay all fees without incurring late payment fees Friday, 1/15/2021
First payment due for those students on payment plan Friday, 1/15/2021
Final day for initial registration Friday, 1/15/2021
Application Deadline for Returning Student Application Friday, 1/15/2021
Late fees assessed Friday, 1/15/2021
New Student Orientation TBA
Residence halls open TBA
Martin Luther King Day; campus closed, no classes Monday, 1/18/2020
Final Grades due for Wintermester classes by 5 p.m. in MyNEVADA Tuesday, 1/19/2021
First day of classes Tuesday, 1/19/2021
Final day to add or swap classes without permission from instructor Monday, 1/15/2021
Final day to receive a 100% refund if dropping individual classes Thursday, 1/28/2021
Final day to change from a letter grade to S/U or S/U to a letter grade or audit Thursday, 1/28/2021
Final day to add or swap classes with permission from instructor Thursday, 1/28/2021
No refunds after this date unless completely withdrawing from the university; 50% refund for complete withdrawal begins Thursday, 1/28/2021

February 2021

February 2021 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
President's Day; campus closed, no classes Monday, 2/15/2021
Second fee payment due for those on payment plan Monday, 2/15/2021

March 2021

March 2021 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Deadline to apply for May graduation Monday, 3/1/2021
Spring Break; campus open, no classes Saturday, 3/13/2021-Sunday 3/21/2021
Final fee payment due for those on payment plan Monday, 3/15/2021
Summer Session registration starts Monday, 3/22/2021
Final day to drop classes and receive a W Wednesday, 3/31/2021
Final day to change from credit to audit Wednesday, 3/31/2021
No dropping of individual classes after this deadline Wednesday, 3/31/2021

April 2021

April 2021 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Fall Semster enrollment begins Thursday, 4/1/2021

May 2021

May 2021 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Prep Day Wednesday, 5/5/2021
Finals week begins Thursday, 5/6/2021
Final day for submitting thesis/dissertation and notice of completion with Graduate School for December graduation Friday, 5/7/2021
Instruction Ends Wednesday, 5/12/2021
Commencement Thursday 5/13/2020-Saturday 5/15/2021
Faculty to post final grades in MyNEVADA - 5 p.m. Monday, 5/17/2021
Spring semester ends - last day faculty on campus for fall semester Monday, 5/17/2021

June 2021

June 2021 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Veteran's Day (no classes; campus closed) Wednesday, 11/11/2020
Notice of Completion (Doctoral due from graduating doctoral students who are being hooded Wednesday, 11/25/2020
Thanksgiving Day (no classes; campus closed) Thursday, 11/26/2020
Family Day (no classes; campus closed) Friday, 11/27/2020

July 2021

July 2021 dates
Event/activity/deadline Date
Final day for submitting thesis/dissertation and notice of completion with Graduate School for December graduation Friday, 12/4/2020
Commencement Saturday, 12/5/2020
Prep Day Wednesday, 12/9/2020
Finals week begins Thursday, 12/10/2020
Instruction Ends Wednesday, 12/16/2020
Fall semester ends - last day faculty on campus for fall semester Friday, 12/18/2020
Faculty to post final grades in MyNEVADA - 5 p.m. Monday, 12/21/2020
Christmas Holiday (campus closed) Friday, 12/25/2020