Academic calendar

Academic Calendar

2019-2020 academic year

 

Application deadlines

2019-2020 application deadlines
Event/activity/deadline Fall 2019 Spring 2020
Deadline for scholarship/WUE consideration Friday, 2/1/2019 Sunday, 12/15/2019
Application deadline for first-year applicants (Fall 2019/Spring 2020) Sunday, 4/7/2019 Sunday, 12/15/2019
Application deadline for transfer/second bachelor's applicants Monday, 7/1/2019 Sunday, 12/15/2019
Application deadline for non-degree/graduate special applicants Friday, 8/16/2019 Friday, 1/10/2020
Application deadline for returning student applicants Friday, 8/23/2019 Friday, 1/17/2020
 

Dates of instruction

2019-2020 dates of instruction
Event/activity/deadline Fall 2019 Spring 2020
First day of classes Monday, 8/29/2019 Tuesday, 1/21/2020
Prep Day Wednesday, 12/11/2019 Wednesday, 5/6/2020
Finals week begins Thursday, 12/12/2019 Thursday, 5/7/2020
Instruction Ends Wednesday, 12/18/2019 Wednesday, 5/13/2020
Semester ends - last day faculty on campus for fall semester Friday, 12/20/2019 Monday, 5/18/2020
Faculty to post final grades in MyNEVADA - 5 p.m. Monday, 12/23/2019 Monday, 5/18/2020
Wintermester classes begin N/A Thursday, 1/2/2020
Spring Semester Faculty reporting date N/A Tuesday, 1/14/2020
Wintermester instruction ends N/A Friday, 1/17/2020
Final grades due for Wintermester classes by 5 p.m. in MyNEVADA N/A Tuesday, 1/21/2020
 

Adding, dropping classes or complete withdrawl

*These updated deadlines apply to regular session classes only. For classes with dynamic start/end dates contact mynevada@unr.edu to request information for your specific course.

2019-2020 adding, dropping or withdrawing from classes
Event/activity/deadline Fall 2019 Spring 2020
Final day to add or swap classes without permission from instructor Friday, 8/20/2019 Monday, 1/27/2020
Final day to receive a 100% refund if dropping individual classes or completely withdrawing from the University Thursday, 9/5/2019 Thursday, 1/30/2020
Final day to change from a letter grade to S/U or S/U to a letter grade or audit Thursday, 9/5/2019 Thursday, 1/30/2020
Final day to add or swap classes with permission from instructor Thursday, 9/5/2019 Thursday, 1/30/2020
No refunds after this date unless completely withdrawing from the University; 50% refund for complete withdrawal begins Thursday, 9/5/2019 Thursday, 1/30/2020
Final day to receive a 50% refund if completely withdrawing from the University Friday, 10/4/2019 Thursday, 1/30/2020
Final day to drop classes and receive a W Thursday, 10/31/2019 Tuesday, 3/31/2020
Final day to change from credit to audit Thursday, 10/31/2019 Tuesday, 3/31/2020
No dropping of individual classes after this deadline Thursday, 10/31/2019 Tuesday, 3/31/2020
Final day to receive a 100% refund for Wintermester N/A Thursday, 1/2/2020
Last day to drop Wintermester classes and receive a 50% refund N/A Monday, 1/6/2020
Final day to receive a 100% refund for Wintermester N/A Thursday, 1/2/2020
Final day to withdraw from Wintersession classes and receive a W N/A Friday, 1/10/2020
Final day to change Wintermester class from credit to audit N/A Friday, 1/10/2020
 

Housing

2019-2020 housing dates
Event/activity/deadline Fall 2019 Spring 2020
Second housing payment due Saturday, 6/15/2019 N/A
Deadline to cancel housing and only forfeit security deposit Saturday, 6/15/2019 N/A
Deadline to cancel housing and only forfeit security deposit and initial payment Wednesday, 7/31/2019 N/A
Residence halls open Thursday, 8/22/2019 Sunday, 1/19/2020
 

Tuition and fees deadlines

2019-2020 tuition and fees deadlines
Event/activity/deadline Fall 2019 Spring 2020
Fall semester fees due; final day to pay all fees without incurring late payment fees Friday, 8/23/2019 N/A
First payment due for those students on payment plan Friday, 8/23/2019 Friday, 1/17/2020
Late fees assessed Friday, 8/23/2019 Friday, 1/17/2020
Second fee payment due for those on payment plan Monday, 9/23/2019 Monday, 2/17/2020
Final fee payment due for those on payment plan Wednesday, 10/23/2019 Tuesday, 3/17/2020
Last day to pay Wintermester tuition without late fees N/A Thursday, 1/2/2020
Spring semester fees due; final day to pay all fees without incurring late payment fees N/A Friday, 1/17/2020
 

Orientation and NevadaFIT

2019-2020 orientation and NevadaFIT dates
Event/activity/deadline Fall 2019 Spring 2020
Orientation Experience Friday, 6/14/2019 N/A
Orientation Express Monday 6/17/2019 - Tuesday 6/18/2019 N/A
Orientation Express Thursday 6/20/2019 - Friday, 6/21/2019 N/A
Orientation Experience Monday, 6/24/2019 N/A
Orientation Experience Friday, 6/28/2019 N/A
Orientation Express Monday, 7/1/2019 N/A
Orientation Transition Monday, 7/8/2019 - Tuesday, 7/9/2019 N/A
Orientation Experience Thursday, 7/11/2019 - Friday, 7/12/2019 N/A
Orientation Experience Monday, 7/15/2019 - Tuesday, 7/16/2019 N/A
Orientation Transition Thursday, 7/18/2019 - Friday, 7/19/2019 N/A
Orientation Experience Monday, 7/22/2019 N/A
New Undergraduate Student Orientation Wednesday, 7/24/2019 N/A
New Transfer Student Orientation Monday, 7/29/2019 N/A
New Undergraduate Student Orientation Wednesday, 7/31/2019 N/A
Orientation Express N/A N/A
NevadaFit move-in day Saturday, 8/17/2019 N/A
Opening Ceremony TBA N/A
NevadaFit Programs Saturday, 8/17/2019 - Thursday, 8/22/2019 N/A
New Graduate Student Orientation/Reception Thursday, 8/22/2019 Thursday, 1/16/2020
 

University holidays

2019-2020 University holidays
University holidays & Spring Break Fall 2019 Spring 2020
Labor Day (no classes, campus closed) Monday, 9/2/2019
Nevada Day (no classes; campus closed) Friday, 10/25/2019
Veteran's Day (no classes; campus closed) Monday, 11/11/2019
Thanksgiving Day (no classes; campus closed) Thursday, 11/28/2019
Family Day (no classes; campus closed) Friday, 11/26/2019
Christmas Holiday (campus closed) Wednesday, 12/25/2019
New Year's Day; campus closed Wednesday, 1/1/2020
Martin Luther King Day; campus closed, no classes Monday, 1/20/2020
President's Day; campus closed, no classes Monday 2/17/2020
Spring Break; campus open, no classes 3/14/2020 - 3/22/2020
 

Registration and enrollment deadlines

2019-2020 registration and enrollment deadlines
Event/activity/deadline Fall 2019 Spring 2020
Final day to apply for change of residency for Fall Semester Friday, 8/16/2019 N/A
Final day for initial registration Friday, 8/23/2019 Friday, 1/17/2020
Enrollment for Spring 2020 begins N/A Friday, 11/1/2019
Enrollment for Wintermester begins N/A Friday, 11/1/2019
Final day to enroll in Wintermester class N/A Friday, 1/3/2020
Summer Session registration starts N/A Monday, 3/23/2020
Fall semester enrollment begins N/A Wednesday, 4/1/2020
 

Commencement dates and deadlines

2019-2020 commencement and graduation dates and deadlines
Commencement Fall 2019 Spring 2020
500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

Tuesday, 10/1/2019 Sunday, 3/1/2020
Final day for submitting thesis/dissertation and notice of completion with Graduate School for December graduation Friday, 12/6/2019
Commencement Saturday, 12/7/2019 5/14/2020, 5/15/20, 5/16/2020
 

Wintermester deadlines

2019 Wintermester deadlines
Wintermester Date
Enrollment for Wintermester begins Friday, 11/1/2019
First day of classes Thursday, 1/2/2020
Instruction Ends Friday, 1/17/2020
Faculty to post final grades in MyNEVADA - 5 p.m. Tuesday, 1/21/2020
Final day to receive a 100% refund if dropping individual classes or completely withdrawing from the university Thursday, 1/2/2020
Final day to receive a 50% refund if completely withdrawing from the university or from Wintermester classes Monday, 1/6/2020
Final day to drop classes and receive a W Friday, 1/10/2020
Final day to change from credit to audit Friday, 1/10/2020
Final day to pay all fees without incurring late payment fees Thursday, 1/2/2020
Final day for initial registration Thursday, 1/2/2020
Enrollment for Wintermester (2019) and Spring (2020) semester begins Friday, 11/1/2019